Ghana News

Let’s work to bring our nation back to prosperity – Akufo-Addo

President Akufo-Addo has urged Ghanaians to put their shoulders to the wheel as his government puts measures in place to revive the economy.

He said that is the only option we have as a people.

The President said this in an address to the nation on Friday to mark the 30th anniversary of the 4th republic which falls tomorrow, January 7, 2023.

According to the President, it will take our collective resolve to bring the nation back to prosperity, hence his call.

“Even though we are presently confronted with difficulties in our economic performance, I do not doubt our collective resolve to work our way out of these challenges, and put our nation back onto the path of progress and prosperity,” he said.

President Akufo-Addo further urged Ghanaians, “to continue to work to create the platform for the evolution of a new Ghanaian civilisation, which will give true meaning to the foundational values of freedom and justice on which our nation was birthed.” 

He assured that the prospects of Ghana’s economy are bright.

“Tomorrow’s milestone is to the great credit of you, the Ghanaian people, the ordinary men and women who make up the fabric of our nation. Thirty (30) years ago, all of us resolved to build, under God, a united nation, grounded in democratic values and the rule of law. We have advanced a great deal in realising this vision, and I am confident that, with a spirit of fairness, hard work, integrity and reconciliation, the best days of Mother Ghana lie ahead of us,” he said.

Ghana returned to constitutional rule on January 7, 1993. The first President of the 4th republic was late ex-President Rawlings. He was succeeded by ex-President J.A. Kufuor who handed over power to late ex-President J.E.A Mills.

Unfortunately, Professor Mills died in office and was succeeded by his then Vice President John Mahama. President Mahama won the 2012 election to become the 4th President of the 4th republic.  On January 7, 2017, President Akufo-Addo was sworn in as the 5th President of the 4th Republic.

DISCLAIMER: The Views, Comments, Opinions, Contributions and Statements made by Readers and Contributors on this platform do not necessarily represent the views or policy of Multimedia Group Limited.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button